So, why is it so expensive? Response from manufacturers.

I asked manufacturers of the SpeakEasy and SmallTalk about the cost of their devices ($5k and $1.6k respectively). They (Thomas and Alan) were nice to respond promptly with the following reasons. Basically the price is not driven by the manufacturing cost but rather by the small size of the market.

See, both these companies are for-profit manufacturers whose sole or primary income comes from anti-stuttering devices. So, if I were to chose this as my sole source of income — I would not have any other choice but keep prices high enough to sustain my salary.

Well, I don’t. I already have a job and my driving force is a compassion to those who stutter. My personal experience inspires me, my training enables me.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

